Home » 2016 Young Hearts Matter Award Nominees

2016 Young Hearts Matter Award Nominees

These awards recognize individuals who inspire and lead their communities to promote healthy relationships for young hearts in Texas. Recipients will be honored in February 2016 and will receive a $200 honorarium for the Activist of the Year and Advocate of the Year award categories.

Activist of the Year Nominees
Recognizing a young person who has been a driving force for social change among their peers and has done significant work to promote awareness and prevention of dating abuse in their community or school.


Hibba Siddiqi, Houston
HPD Youth Policy Advisory Council


Sam Martinez, La Joya
Rio Grande Valley VOC Program,
Juarez Lincoln High School Law Club


Shasparay Lighteard,
Round Rock

Community activist & poet


Lizi Xiong, Houston
Young Women United – USA


Alejandra Saenz, Del Valle
Changing Lives Youth Theatre Ensemble


Jimmy James, Houston
Love is Respect Board Member,
HPD Youth Policy Advisory Council


Caroline McKenzie, Austin
Texas Advocacy Project Teen Ambassador


 Advocate of the Year Nominees

Recognizing an adult ally who partners with young people, is a leader for violence prevention in their community, and has made prevention programming more accessible as a result of their efforts.


Nathan Richardson, Denton
Denton County Friends of the Family


Marilyn Gambrell, Houston
No More Victims, Inc.


Superintendent Juan Cabrera,
El Paso Independent School District


Hillarye Hightower, Denton
Denton County Friends of the Family


Florence Briceno, Austin
Travis County Sheriff’s Office


Angie Stafford, Victoria
Midcoast Family Services


Tonya Bradley, Houston
Ronald McDonald House


Jennifer Pillich, Manor
Girls Athletic Coordinator,
Manor ISD


Texas Partner for Change Nominees

Recognizing a community leader whose partnerships and efforts have given voice to violence prevention and have inspired systemic or community wide change across the state of Texas.